Funny girl and magician's apprentice. - Reisverslag uit Didcot, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Claudia Geels - WaarBenJij.nu Funny girl and magician's apprentice. - Reisverslag uit Didcot, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Claudia Geels - WaarBenJij.nu

Funny girl and magician's apprentice.

Door: Claudia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Claudia

23 April 2007 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Didcot

Dear everybody, this time I will write my story in English first and translate it to Dutch later. Some righteousness must be done for the English speaking, mustn't it. (Dus voor de Nederlanders onder u: geen paniek, alleen een beetje geduld gevraagd). On Sunday evening after the meeting I came to the house of Sarah and Hannah Turner and I got my own bedroom upstairs, very nice. Not so much furniture in it yet but my suitcases are like cupboards for me anyway. On Monday their brother Mark came in to hang up the curtains.
Their house has a very pretty garden with a little waterfall, where birds come to drink and bathe themselves and with a lot of feeders for the little garden birds. For example the Robins, who were busy building a nest in their tree! That garden is an oasis of rest and quiet happiness.
Hannah and I went to the post office and had lunch together in a bakery shop. After that some work had to be done: I worked on the sideboards in the livingroom, filling the screw holes and then I cooked dinner. Fortunately Sarah had left us all the ingredients so it was an easy job. Cooking meals became my every day job for a while but in the weekend Sarah was so delighted to take it over again because she had missed doing it!
On Tuesday, apart from working a little more on those sideboards (a long stretched job I made it), I bought a folding bike at Halfords and assembled it in the livingroom. I used it straight away by cycling to the Turner's in Harwell to ask them for Dickens 'Martin Chuzzlewit' which we wanted to watch. It's lesson was that most people live for themselves but in different ways and old martin found that out and rewarded everyone in the end to her/his real worth. I cooked a Dutch 'California' tomato and vegetable soup. Because we didn't go to bed late I had plenty of time to read 'The long fall' about the convent, it's abbott and it's brothers.
On Wednesday I went to go shopping-by bike off course!- for dinner and bought some secondhand stuff as well. Then we were invited for Easterdinner at the Turners who were to go to Norway the following day. Then there was a meeting about: to be awaken to salvation 2Tim.2:8-10 and 2 Cor.3:18, 4:17 and 18: If the light affliction is working for us, then nobody can stop us from proceeding in God. Even though you didn't achieve what your plans were for the day, your soul is satisfied because you found salvation in it! There is no limit to what Gods Word can do in me because it is not bound. But am I bound?
On Thursday I walked around in the morning and cycled to East Hagbourne and Blewbury where I took pictures of the nice old houses. Some washing, pizza and salad, the musical 'Yentl' and Tinca who called me from Holland and talked to me on the phone. I have to realize that other people can feel lonely sometimes, so I want to encourage myself to think of them more in my prayers.
On Good Friday I did some more cycling, to East and West-Hagbourne, worked a bit in the garden and then we went to Martin and Jacky Hall in order to watch the transmissions from the Easter conference. It was one great encouragement to godly fear, very useful! Fear God and love Him, so you will be obedient to the faith!
Lester and Janet were also at the Hall's when we watched the transmissions on Saturday.
On Sunday we went to the Turners for the transmissions. John, Jake, Neill and Mark were there as well. They had worked for the fundraiser, giving a show in an 'exclusive' shoppingcentre and they would go to Norway the next day in order to catch up with the other young people for the youth skiing trip. In between the meetings I cycled to Upton and met another cyclist who asked me questions about my bicycle. Because I was from Holland, I would know best, he said.
On Monday I finished the sideboards and fernished them and for Monday evening dinner we were invited to Lester and Janet together with Cliff and Sue Jones and the Freemans and then I had to say goodbye to my new good friend Hannah because I moved to the Gale's. I could still go and visit Hannah, I thought, so it wasn't too bad and the Gale's (like Geels or Gales or Gaels)are almost family, aren't they. Well, it was very very nice to stay there because apart from our name we discovered that we had even more in common: Lester and I both write poetry!
I got my own room there as well, a little smaller than at Sarah and Hannah's but big enough for me plus all my stuff. And in the cupboard I found a beautiful book with photographs of England and Ireland and a booklet with war poetry, so I had enough to do during the night... The days contained cooking meals, doing jobs with Lester, like cleaning and laying grippers for carpets, doing fundraiser jobs (Chargrove community hall, washing clothes, writing my story on this website, answering e-mails and most of all POETRY. It's hard to explain but when poetry is in the air it vibrates with everything you do the whole day through and gave a special taste to every little task. Although I can't really explain how good it was, I will come back next time because I think this sequel is long enough for now. Boring for a lot of people, except my sister and some others..??
See you all next time. Big hug from the Croc

  • 23 April 2007 - 12:11

    Nicki:

    Hey Claudy!!!
    Wow, leuk om het weer te lezen! Voor mij hoef je het niet te vertalen hoor ;) ... maar misschien wel leuk voor de anderen. Er zijn vast meer mensen die je 'levensverhalen' lezen. That's real life! Ben je nog steeds bij de Gales of ben je alweer verder gereisd? Je wordt nog eens een ervaren wereldreizigster ;)
    Gisteren hadden wij de brunch in Schalkwijk, dat was erg gezellig, er was dan ook heel wat voorbereiding voor gedaan. Kijk maar eens snel op de website, dan zie je de foto's. Vinden Lester en Janet misschien ook leuk om te zien :) Hebben jullie daar in Engeland ook zulk mooi weer? Het is hier echt schitterend!
    Nou, een hele dikke HUG van mij en God bless you! Liefs, your sissy ;)

  • 23 April 2007 - 12:29

    WE:

    How nice to be involved in your experiances!So good to hear about all and everybody.A little bit like being around.This time it seems longer,your abcenty here at home.I think the reason is that it took a little longer before you could send us these nice reports.We enjoyed it very much.We hope all our friends and you too,are feeling well.You are experiencing a lot of nice things.We comfort ourselves by looking forwards to that special weekend in June(16-18th of June)and to meet June by then!!!!!
    Give our brotherly love to all there in Taunton and:till next time(mail/sms/tel)
    WE (love you)!

  • 24 April 2007 - 17:05

    EvF:

    So you bought yourself a folding horse. Should be nice if we, knights, had folding horses. Easier when we come to our castles for dinner... :-)
    A special kiss from a bit tired, but happy person.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Claudia

verhuisd, naar Didcot, Engeland

Actief sinds 17 Aug. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 113
Totaal aantal bezoekers 25786

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Augustus 2007 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: