a stop-over at home - Reisverslag uit De Meern, Nederland van Claudia Geels - WaarBenJij.nu a stop-over at home - Reisverslag uit De Meern, Nederland van Claudia Geels - WaarBenJij.nu

a stop-over at home

Door: Webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Claudia

28 November 2006 | Nederland, De Meern

Dear friends all over the world, I just have to say something to my Dutch friends first before I am going to write in english again. Hold on a second...
Beste Nederlandse lezers, jullie zullen mijn ellenlange verhalen wel even kunnen missen nu ik hier in Nederland ben. Als je engels kunt lezen, lees dan gerust weer mee, zo niet, dan kom je me maar vragen, wat ik hier zoal uitvoer. Tot ziens!
Here I am, back again. My last Michigan memories are some very sweet letters from the Reedchildren, lunch at Chinese Apple Buffet with papa and mama Wright and Sureese and hugs-goodbye from the Wrights before and after Lewis and Sureese brought me to the airport.
I had a good flight, I even slept 3 or 4 hours on the way to London. Of course I made some more friends but just for the flight: one from Alaska and one from Cheltenham, England.
In Amsterdam my family was there behind the window, eager to hug me. My sister Nienke had a long conversation with me in signlanguage through the window before I got my luggage back. That was funny, you should have seen people's faces! It's very handy to know a little signlanguage, I must say.
We dropped off the luggage at home, ate at Ikea (very American to eat out!) and hurried to the meeting. It was about the couple's weekend at Brunstad and many parents were very gripped! That was good to hear. One sister had given her 11-year old daughter a ticket to the sister's conference in her shoe for St. Niklaus! (Sinterklaas)
The next day I was already working away in Germany for the fundraiser. Inventory in a big building-market 'Praktiker. I was happy I made it all day and we got very good food there. At home that night I gave my family their presents, so many thanks to the givers in Detroit; papa and mama Wright, Kim and others.
On Friday I had time to unpack my stuff but I used the weekend as well for that because there was a weekend up north were we didn't go this time so I had plenty of time. I also sent my books in little packages to the people who ordered them. So, sister Joyce, Diana and Meredith and Greta, besides my relatives; your order is on the way!
Some friends and my brother Bastiaan and my sister-in-law came to pay me a visit, to see me again and give a belated birthday present. And we all talked very fast in the family as if we had to catch up for all the lost time. There was so much to tell one another. And pictures to look at on the computer. All together was it so late again that I had no time to work on my website.
On Monday the 27th we went to Haarlem. My dad and mom and me, as that had been a life-long promise that my dad was going to show me the place where he had lived and grown up and my mum had stayed in the same old Dutch town with her aunt and uncle as a child. So that was a nice day. We did a lot of history together! In the evening my mom and I worked two hours for the fundraiser, cleaning the bathrooms and offices at a building market close by. We even got a package of soap for the washing machine for free and that was a heavy load on the back of the bike!
Today I had a lot of work to do on the computer, so I end with this story of my first week at home. It is only a stop-over because I am going to Norway for the new years conference and after that I am going to the south of Germany. One of my french friends, Rachel Favre, asked me to come over and stay with her for some days, so I don't know what will lay ahead yet. In the week of December 12th and 13th I will be with my friend Elisabeth van de Meerakker in the south of Holland and next week we celebrate 'Sinterklaas' with a lot of sweets and candy and presents for one another. So if you like it, stay in touch and if not, just tell me too by sending your reaction on this website.
Talk to you all later! Crazy crocodile Claudy (N.B. crazy for fellowship and revelation in the brotherhood, 'the Crocodile')

  • 28 November 2006 - 18:19

    EvF:

    Hi sweetie, nice that we can keep on following your adventures... Hope you will be able to pay us a visit somewhere in between, or otherwise we just keep communicating in this way. Big hug! ;-)

  • 28 November 2006 - 18:24

    EvF:

    I forgot to say I placed a Thank You e-mail on the weblog of our secretary of Finance of the last 12 years: Gerrit Zalm. He always reminds me of our accurate and careful dad.

  • 28 November 2006 - 19:28

    Nicki:

    Hi Claudy,
    do I have to write in english? Well, no problem anyway (I hope)... Although you are sitting next to me and looking over my shoulder, I like to tell you: I love you sooooooo much and I am glad I can give you big american hugs whenever I want! Please keep writing, because I know there are a lot of friends, who are eager to hear from you!
    Thanks for your wonderful stories... ;)

  • 01 December 2006 - 23:09

    Dianna:

    Hi Claudia! You sound busy and you sound like you are having tons of fun. The pictures are beautiful. I can't wait until I get to go to Europe, I definitely want to see Holland and all the lovely friends there. What fellowship is De Meern near? I checked the Brunstad website and I don't know the name of your fellowship. Please give my greeting to your parents and all of your family. Thank you for the book, i look forward to its arrival. I am excited to read it. Safe travel and God Bless.

  • 05 December 2006 - 08:41

    Tiny Bubble:

    Just wanted to tell you that I miss you! Hope to see you at the new years conference, Me

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Claudia

verhuisd, naar Didcot, Engeland

Actief sinds 17 Aug. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 308
Totaal aantal bezoekers 25792

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Augustus 2007 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: